Poulenc: Stabat Mater

Aedes joins up with the musicians of Les Siècles to perform this masterpiece of sacred music by the composer who has been their inspiration since the birth of the ensemble : Poulenc’s Stabat Mater. As he grapples with this huge musical fresco for choir, soprano solo and orchestra, Mathieu Romano seeks go beyond the image of the grieving Mother of God in order to connect with the message of hope which underlies the work.

The first part of the programme is a kind of journey of faith : Hope with Janequin ; desolation with Gesualdo ; confirmation with Pärt ; The Unanswered Question with Ives ; fervour with Messiaen. This gives way to the voice of Mary grieving over the death of her Son whilst still nurturing hope for the future. The audience enters into the music of this Stabat Mater in the spirit of the grieving Mother reaffirming her faith and illustrating the mystical ways in which God reveals Himself to mankind.

Clément JANEQUIN O doulx regard, o parler (a cappella choir)
Rodion SHCHEDRIN  L’ange scellé, first movement (choir and flute)
André JOLIVET Five incantations No. 4 (solo flute), For a serene communion of humankind with the world
Carlo GESUALDO Sparge la morte al mio signor (From Madrigals Book IV, a cappella choir)
Arvo PÄRT The deer’s cry (a cappella choir)
Charles IVES The Unanswered Question (orchestra)
Olivier MESSIAEN Poèmes pour Mi : L’épouse (soprano solo and orchestra)
Olivier MESSIAEN L’Ascension, 1st movement (orchestra)
Francis POULENC Stabat Mater (soprano solo, choir and orchestra)

1h20 with no interval
35 singers
54 instrumentalists
1 soloist
1 conductor

Les Siècles
Marianne Croux
Mathieu Romano


Contact diffusion

Elisa Bresset


06 60 62 99 14

Restons en contact !