Brahms: A German Requiem

Johannes Brahms

Tuesday 28th May 2019 - Théâtre Impérial de Compiègne

The first drafts of Brahms’ requiem were composed around 1954, when he was facing up to the insanity, then the death of his friend Robert Schumann: the finishing touches were made in 1865, as he was getting over the death of his mother. As he conducts his Ensemble Aedes and the historic instruments of Les Siècles, Mathieu Romano endeavours to convey the deeply personal feeling and the profound humanity underlying this, the greatest requiem of the Romantic Period.

Wolfgang RIHM, Mit geschossenem Mund for a cappella choir
Gustav MAHLER, Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen for soprano and orchestra (transcription by Franck Krawczyk)
Johannes BRAHMS, A German Requiem (Joachim Linckelmann’s version for chamber orchestra and choir)

Soprano : Axelle Fanyo
Baryton : Matthias Winckhler
Les Siècles
Ensemble Aedes
Mathieu Romano : conductor

Restons en contact !