Mathieu Romano

Conductor

Mathieu Romano, like many musicians of his generation, is as comfortable working a cappella or with an orchestra. He is at home with all genres, from baroque music to contemporary premières, in concert or conducting opera.
After completing his studies in Zsolt Nagy’s conducting class at the Paris Conservatoire (CNSM de Paris), he continued to work with conductors such as François-Xavier Roth, Pierre Boulez and Susanna Mälkki.
He has been guest conductor of such ensembles as the RIAS Kammerchor, the Latvian Radio Choir, the Orchestre Français des Jeunes and Les Siècles. He regularly works with the Frivolités Parisiennes conducting operas, and the Itinéraire Ensemble in premières of contemporary music. His engagements include projects with the Netherlands Chamber Choir, the Orchestre Régional de Normandie and Sinfonia Varsovia.

With his own Ensemble Aedes, he is invited to all the major events of the musical season. His many a cappella recordings have received acclaim from both listeners and critics.

A fervent believer in enriching musical education and accessibility, Mathieu Romano took up the post of conductor of the Nouvelle-Aquitaine orchestre DEMOS (outreach orchestra) in 2017. With the Ensemble Aedes, he is associate artist at the Cité de la Voix – Vézelay.

Restons en contact !

Mathieu Romano

Directeur musical

Mathieu Romano appartient à cette génération de chefs travaillant tout autant avec le chœur a cappella qu’avec l’orchestre. Il aborde tous les genres, de la musique baroque à la création contemporaine, en concert comme à l’opéra.
Il se forme à la direction d’orchestre du CNSM de Paris dans la classe de Zsolt Nagy, et bénéficie des conseils de chefs tels que François-Xavier Roth, Pierre Boulez ou Susanna Mälkki.
Il a dirigé des ensembles comme le RIAS Kammerchor, le Latvian Radio Choir, l’Orchestre Français des Jeunes ou encore Les Siècles mais aussi des productions d’opéras avec les Frivolités Parisiennes et des projets contemporains avec l’Ensemble Itinéraire. Il collabore également avec le Netherlands Chamber choir ou encore l’Orchestre Régional de Normandie et prochainement le Sinfonia Varsovia.

Avec l’Ensemble Aedes, dont il est fondateur et directeur artistique, il se produit dans les plus grandes saisons musicales. Sa riche discographie consacrée à la musique a cappella est saluée par le public et la critique.

Impliqué dans les actions d’accessibilité et d’éducation à la musique, il prend notamment la direction d’un orchestre DEMOS en Nouvelle-Aquitaine en 2017. Il initie également des actions de formation des jeunes talents, notamment dans le cadre de la résidence de l’Ensemble Aedes à la Cité de la Voix.

Restons en contact !